The discussion area can be used for announcements, and to have open discussions with your staff and co-managers. In open discussions, people can comment on posts.

When creating a new discussion, you can be specific about who can see it. For example, if you want to discuss ideas for a new menu item, you might only discuss with staff that have the ‘Kitchen‘ or ‘Dining‘ role (and save the security guards from all the talk about changing the main dish from beef to chicken).

Particularly important discussions or announcements can be marked Sticky. This will ensure they always show at the top of the discussion list. You might ‘sticky’ important topics like dress codes and other company policies.

To create a discussion, click the Create new button at the top of the page.

Below you will find a breakdown of all the fields within the Communication → Discussions area of your account.

Field NameExampleDescription
Topic*Christmas partyThe topic title will be used on the discussion list page, and in the message which goes to the audience, if you turn the 'Notify' audience setting on (more on that below). Try to keep the title short and descriptive – under 10 words is ideal.
DescriptionWhere does everyone want to have the Christmas party this year?This is the body of the discussion topic. Use this area to fully explain the point you are trying to make and the action you want to be taken. There is no word limit on the description field.
StickyYesMarking a discussion as ‘sticky’ ensures it will always show at the top of the discussion list page, regardless of its last comment date (the default way with which discussions are sorted). Mark only the most important discussions as sticky.
Allow commentsYesIf you want to make an announcement rather than a discussion that staff can comment on via their staff Area, change this setting to ‘No’. Managers can always make comments.
AudienceCompany wideYour selections in the audience section define who can view the discussion via their staff Area; to all other staff it will be invisible. If you want all of your staff to see it, select 'Company wide'. If you don’t want any of your staff to view the discussion, select ‘Managers only’.
Notify audienceYesIf this is set to ‘yes’, all the staff as defined in your 'Audience', will get a new message notifying them of the new discussion. If you set this as ‘No’, the staff will still have access, it will just be reliant upon them logging in and finding the discussion. We recommend leaving this set to ‘Yes’ for important announcements or discussions.

* Mandatory   1 Enterprise Only

Was this article helpful?

Discussions
4 of 1 vote