Bulk copy, delete and reassign shifts for multiple employees, a selected date range or even a particular role
Many changes to multiple shifts are able to be made in bulk.
- Event cancelled? Bulk delete all the shifts in one go.
- Using a fortnightly schedule and have the perfect first week created? Bulk copy the shifts to the last week of the schedule.
- employee off sick? Bulk reassign all their shifts to another employee with only a few clicks.
All these changes can be made using the ‘Bulk Actions’ button in the top-right corner of the schedule.
Bulk schedule actions work with existing individual shifts, they will not affect shift batches. Read up here on Shift batches, another way to create and manage multiple shifts at one time.
If your schedule has already been published, bulk actions won’t cause notifications to be sent to employees, so it’s recommended you message employees directly to advise of changes.
Any bulk actions performed will be verified, and you’ll be notified of any compliance warnings that would prevent the the changes, such as shift clashes. A pop up notification will either warn you or block making a change that is in violation of alert settings.
Bulk actions > Bulk copy
Go to the schedule that the new shifts will be copied to, and start with identifying the date range of the shifts to be copied, and the start date of the range you want the shifts to be copied to – the ‘To this date, forwards’ date. If copying shifts from one employee to another the two starting dates can be the same.
Identify the employees whose shifts you want to copy, or just select the one employee if you’re copying them so another employee can be assigned to work the same shifts.
If there is more than one location on the schedule you can limit to just one location, or apply the action to all.
If working with a large number of shifts, or if your employees are scheduled in multiple locations, then you are increasing the likelihood of coming across compliance issues. See more on this in the Compliance errors section below.
Bulk actions > Bulk edit
Select the date range and shift labels of shifts you want to edit in bulk. Once a shift label is selected from the dropdown menu, you will be bulk editing all shifts with that corresponding label.
Once the shift label is selected, you can then narrow down the shifts being edited based on the role they’re assigned to.
After selecting the role you will be presented with the shift information window, which works in the same way as if you were adding a new shift to the roster.
Once the shift information is entered and saved, all shifts within your selected shift label and role will be updated to show the new times.
Bulk actions > Bulk delete
Select the date or date range, and determine the employees, roles and locations it will affect, whether all of them or just a single one of each.
As you vary the parameters the orange bar will advise the number of shifts that will be deleted by the action. This cannot be undone once you hit ‘Delete shifts’ so make sure you’re certain of what’s being deleted.
Bulk actions > Bulk reassign
Select the date range of the shifts to be reassigned, the employee being unassigned from the shifts, and the employee who is now being assigned the shifts.
Again, any changes to be made are verified, and you’ll be notified of any compliance warnings that would prevent the the changes, such as shift clashes. More on compliance errors below.
Settings > Manager permissions > selected profile > Rostering > Rosters, award & qualification alerts
Be aware that permissions settings may prevent you from performing some of these actions.
Low or critical alerts may be triggered by the proposed changes. Manager permissions control what the manager can do in instances of low or critical alerts. In some cases you may be simply warned against the action and asked if you want to continue anyway, in other instances the action may be blocked. Alert status is set in the employment contract each employee is under. More on this in the employment contract settings article.
Your Ento administrator will be able to access the tab of your Settings > Manager permissions profile to determine what attempting to schedule low or critical alerts will do. More on this in the Manager Permissions article.